Prince William Sound Community College

Study in Alaska with No Out of State Tuition at PWSCC

Archive for May 5th, 2014

Congratulations PWSCC Graduating Class of 2014

Posted on: May 5th, 2014 by Don No Comments

Prince William Sound Community College held Commencement ceremonies Saturday at the Valdez Civic Center. Eighteen successful graduates received degrees, including four PWSCC staff members. An additional 33 students received GEDs.

University of Alaska, President, Patrick Gamble, was the Commencement speaker, and PWSCC, Student Body President, Tatiana Topping, was the student speaker. PWSCC, Acting President, Christopher Washko; Gamble; and University of Alaska, Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dr. Dana Thomas, conferred the degrees.

Each year, a student is chosen to receive the President’s Cup award. The President’s Cup recognizes a graduating student for outstanding scholastic achievement and citizenship. This year’s recipient achieved an array of scholastic honors through both the college and Phi Theta Kappa. She was the New Century Scholar from Alaska for 2013. She led the PWSCC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter to a Five-Star Level and received numerous honors over the past three years, including serving as a Regional Officer in 2013 and 2014. She has been a Student Government officer and has served her community as Advocacy Chair for the 2012-2013 Relay For Life of Valdez. This year’s President’s Cup was awarded to Diana Lynn Hawkins. Diana also earned the rank of valedictorian.

The following students are to be congratulated upon achievement of their degrees:

Brooke A. Alexander, Master of Arts in Teaching, Secondary Education; Sheila M. Mann, Bachelor of Liberal Arts, Interdisciplinary Studies; Austin F. Carter; Anna-Grace Jeffries; Colton Jason Koch; Hannah Marie Lunt; Susan J. Smith*; Amy Lynn Williams; Adam Keith Zamudio, Associate of Arts; Carolyn Lucille Doyle; Julie Ann Foraker**; Janelle Marie Lass**; Bobby L. LaSalle; Ann Marie Ritter**; Mary Kathy Tate; Heidi Christine Tomrdle**, Associate of Applied Science, Disabilities, Speech & Language Support; Gayle A. Kildal**, Associate of Applied Science, Computer Information and Office Systems; and Diana Lynn Hawkins**, Associate of Applied Science, Industrial Technology, Oil Spill Response.

The following students are to be honored for achievement of their GEDs: Ian Beall; Kenneth Bruck; David Burt; Christopher Calkinn; Matthew Charley; Anthony Cunningham; Devens Helgeson; Ralph Kosbruk; Daniel Lewis; Alexander Matthew; Rosaura Miller; Krystal Penayah; Lewis Williams; and an additional 20 individuals who wish to remain anonymous.

(Honors: *Cum Laude **Magna Cum Laude)